



LEARNING TODAY FOR A BETTER TOMORROW

When a season is a successful as the 2011 football season was for the Miller Rustlers, post-season awards are inevitable. The Rustlers ended their season at 7-3 with a loss to the Leola-Frederick Titans in the quarter-final round of the playoffs. Many exciting games were witnessed by fans along the way in the inaugural 9-man football campaign.

The Rustlers were members of one of the most competitive conferences in the state, the Yellowstone Trail Conference (YTC). Perennial powers Sully Buttes, Eureka-Bowdle, Gettysburg, Herreid-Selby, and Stanley County were a part of the tough schedule Miller faced. In addition, Kimball-White Lake, state runner-up in 9AA in 2011, was a non-conference opponent this season.

Miller was up to the challenge and hosted a first round playoff game against Clark-Willow Lake. After defeating the Cyclones, the Rustlers faced the Titans on the road and fell by and eight point margin.

For their season efforts, several Miller athletes received postseason awards as alluded to earlier. Seniors Taylor Droz, Colton Ketelhut, Seth Rombough, Joey Vrooman, juniors Johannes Gimbel, and Lee Sivertsen were named to the all conference football team. Senior Derick Van Zee was named to the honorable mention squad.

Joey Vrooman was also named to the 9AA All-State Football team by the state coaches. Lee Sivertsen was honorable mention All-State Football.

Congratulations to all the football players and these athletes on a fine season. Also congratulations to the coaches; Head Coach Bob Waldrop, Assistant Mark Ketelhut, Assistant Rich Strasburg, and volunteer assistant Brant Winter. Great season!!